## BRAIN ANEURYSM FOUNDATION 2017 RESEARCH AWARD RECIPIENTS

## Cynthia Lynn Sherwin Chair of Research - \$25,000

\$25,000 AWARDED TO -

Steffen-Sebastian Bolz, MD, PhD

Governing Council of the University of Toronto

Surge Protection: Blocking Catecholamine Signaling in Subarachnoid Hemorrhage Prevents Secondary Hypertension and Reduces Brain Injury

Debbie Feiger Chair of Research - \$10,000 Rostini "Tini" Gomez Chair of Research - \$10,000

\$20,000 AWARDED TO

Aichi Chien, PhD

University of California, Los Angeles

Individualized Aneurysm Growth Prediction and Follow-Up Management

Timothy P. Susco Chair of Research - \$25,000 Andrew David Heitman Foundation Chair of Research - \$10,000

\$35,000 AWARDED TO

David Y. Chung, MD, PhD

Massachusetts General Hospital

Impact of Spreading Depolarizations and Subarachnoid Hemorrhage on Brain Connectivity

Andrew David Heitman Foundation Chair of Research - \$10,000 Ellie Helton Chair of Research - \$5,000 1in50 Chair of Research - \$5,000

**\$20,000** AWARDED TO

Adam A. Dmytriw, MD, MSc

University of Toronto

International Comparison of Endovascular Flow Diverters for the Treatment of Anterior Circulation Aneurysms

Kristen's Legacy of Love for Kristen Shafer Englert Chair of Research - \$20,000

BIDMC Brain Aneurysm Institute Chair of Research - \$10,000 Christopher C. Getch, MD Chair of Research

(Sponsored by the CV Section) - \$5,000 \$35,000 AWARDED TO

Sylvain Doré, PhD

University of Florida

Is CO-Releasing Molecule a Potent Tool for Attenuating Vasospasm and Providing Neuroprotection after Subarachnoid Hemorrhage?

Shirley Dudek Demmer Chair of Research - \$25,000 Andrew David Heitman Foundation Chair of Research - \$20,000

\$45,000 AWARDED TO

William T. Gibson, MD, PhD

University of British Columbia

Functional Approach to Missense Mutations in THSD1, A New Aneurysm Gene

Strode Family Chair of Research - \$15,000

Nebraska's Hope for a Better Tomorrow Chair of Research - \$15,000

\$30,000 AWARDED TO -

Michelle A. T. Hildebrandt, PhD

University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Genetic Predictors of Unruptured Intracranial Aneurysm Growth Behavior and Quantitative Imaging Biomarkers Northwell Health - North Shore University Hospital Brain Aneurysm Center Chair of Research - \$30,000

Andrew David Heitman Foundation Chair of Research - \$10,000

\$40,000 AWARDED TO

Brian L. Hoh, MD

University of Florida

Studying IL-6 and IL-17 in the Cerebral Aneurysm Development of VCD mice

TeamCindy Escape from Alcatraz Chair of Research - \$40,000

\$40,000 AWARDED TO

Koji Hosaka, PhD

University of Florida

Mechanism of Aneurysm Progression and Healing: Telomere and Telomerase Activity in Cerebral Aneurysm

Cami Clark Chair of Research - \$30,000

\$30,000 AWARDED TO -

Daisuke Kudo, MD, PhD

University of California, San Francisco

Contribution of Microbiota to the Pathophysiology of Intracranial Aneurysm

Terry A. Kersting Chair of Research - \$15,000

1in50 Chair of Research - \$5,000

\$20,000 AWARDED TO

John A. Oates, MD

Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Inhibition of Lipid Peroxidation and Cerebral Vasospasm by an Acetaminophen-Based Regimen in Patients with Subarachnoid Hemorrhage

Fight Like Frank Chair of Research - \$15,000 TeamCindy Escape from Alcatraz Chair of Research - \$5,000

\$20,000 AWARDED TO

William "Caleb" Rutledge, MD

University of California, San Francisco

Role of ADAM17 and Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor Pathway Signaling in Aneurysm Rupture

Ellie Helton Chair of Research - \$40,000

\$40,000 AWARDED TO

Deanna Sasaki-Adams, MD

University of North Carolina School of Medicine

Novel Magnetic Resonance Imaging Sequence to Characterize Inflammatory Changes in Aneurysms in a Proven Rabbit Model and Assess Therapeutic Effect of Aspirin

Carol W. Harvey Chair of Research - \$25,000 Dawn Brejcha Chair of Research - \$10,000

Robert Sutherland Chair of Research - \$10,000

\$45.000 AWARDED TO

Vincent M. Tutino, PhD

State University of New York at Buffalo

Feasibility of Detecting Brain Aneurysm Biomarkers in Whole Blood on a Diagnostic Platform