BRAIN ANEURYSM FOUNDATION 2013 AWARD RECIPIENTS

Timothy P. Susco Chair of Research - \$25,000

AWARDED TO

Justin Caplan, M.D. Johns Hopkins Hospital

Haptoglobin phenotype and clinical outcomes in patients with intracranial cerebral aneurysms.

Robert Simon Chair of Research - \$15,000

AWARDED TO ______ Ciaran James Powers, M.D.

Ohio State University

Micro RNA Profiling of Aneurysmal Subarachnoid Hemorrhage.

Step for Hope Chair of Research - \$20,000

AWARDED TO _

Josephine D'Abbondanza, MSc St. Michael's Hospital

Genetic Determinants of Susceptibility to Complications of Subarachnoid Hemorrhage.

Christopher C. Getch Chair of Research sponsored by the CV Section - \$15,000

AWARDED TO

Michael McDowell, M.D Columbia University

Assessment of Aneurysm Rupture Risk: Candidate Susceptibility Genes for Subarachnoid Hemorrhage and Morphological Parameters.

Shirley Dudek Demmer Chair of Research - \$25,000

AWARDED TO

Kamil W. Nowicki, B.S., M.D.-Ph.D. student

Department of Neurosurgery, University of Florida College of Medicine, Gainesville, FL.

Role of Peroxisome Proliferator-Activated Receptor (PPAR) agonists in preventing aneurysm formation and rupture.

Maine's KAT-Walk & Karo-5K Chair of Research - \$25,000

AWARDED TO

Chanannait Paisansathan, M.D University of Illinois at Chicago

The Activation of S100 B / RAGE Pathway Mediates Subarachnoid Hemorrhage-Associated Vasospasm and Delayed Neurological Deficit.

Dawn Brejcha Chair of Research - \$15,000

Teresa Santiago Sim, Ph.D. University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Investigating the Function of THSD1, a Novel Intracranial Aneurysm Susceptibility Gene.

North Shore University Hospital, Brain Aneurysm Center Chair of Research - \$25,000

AWARDED TO

Ricardo A. Peña Silva, M.D. University of Iowa

Impact of Angiotensin 1-7 on cerebral aneurysm inflammation and rupture.

Cynthia Lynn Sherwin Chair of Research - \$25,000

AWARDED TO

Yunxia Tao, Ph.D.

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Pilot Study: Evaluate the Potential of using PKD1 Expression and Function Level as a Risk Marker for Intracranial Aneurysm Rupture..

Carol W. Harvey Memorial Chair of Research - \$15,000

AWARDED TO

Kendall Van Keuren-Jensen, Ph.D. The Translational Genomics Research Institute

Creation of a miRNA Panel for Detection of Patient outcome after Subarachnoid Hemorrhage.