BRAIN ANEURYSM FOUNDATION 2012 AWARD RECIPIENTS

Christopher C. Getch Chair of Research - \$15,000

AWARDED TO

Jinglu Ai, M.D., Ph.D.

Research Associate, St. Michael's Hospital, University of Toronto, Toronto, ON

Mechanisms of Inflammatory Factor TNFa Mediated Brain Injury after Subarachnoid Hemorrhage.

Cynthia Lynn Sherwin Chair of Research - \$20,000

AWARDED TO

Michael Chen, M.D.

Assistant Professor in Neurology, Neurosurgery and Radiology, Rush University Medical Center, Chicago, IL

Timed Hormone Replacement Therapy for Women with Cerebral Aneurysms.

Timothy P. Susco Chair of Research - \$25,000

AWARDED TO

Christoph J. Griessenauer, M.D.

Division of Neurosurgery, Department of Surgery, University of Alabama at Birmingham, AL

Renin-Aangiotensin System Polymorphisms in Pathophysiology of Ruptured Cerebral Aneurysms and Development of Cerebral Vasospasm after SAH.

Robert Simon Chair of Research - \$15,000

AWARDED TO _

Robert F. James, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Neurosurgery, East Carolina University, Brody School of Medicine, Greenville, NC and Director of Cerebrovascular and Neuroendovascular Surgery, Co-Director Neuroscience Intensive Care Unit, Vidant Medical Center, Greenville, North Carolina

Prophylactic Low-Dose Intravenous Heparin Infusion for Aneurysmal Subarachnoid Hemorrhage: A Double Blinded, Placebo Controlled, Randomized, Phase II Clinical Trial.preventing aneurysm formation and rupture.

Combined Grant from The Brain Aneurysm Foundation and My Green Eyed Girl, Cassandra Sophia Hill Chair of Research - \$20,000

AWARDED TO ____

Irene P. Kan, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology, Villanova University

Understanding and Enhancing Memory Monitoring in Confabulation: Evidence from Ruptured Aneurysm Cases.

Dawn Brejcha Chair of Research - \$10,000

AWARDED TO

Alim P. Mitha, M.D., SM, FRCSC

Cerebrovascular/Endovascular/Skull Base Neurosurgeon, Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurosciences and Radiology, Foothills Medical Centre, University of Calgary, Calgary, AB

A Bioabsorbable, Verapamil-Eluting Stent for the Treatment of Vasospasm after Subarachmoid Hemorrhage.

North Shore University Hospital, Brain Aneurysm Center Chair of Research - \$25,000

AWARDED TO

Kamil W. Nowicki

MD-PhD Training Program, University of Florida College of Medicine, Gainesville, FL

Shear-Stress Inflammation in Cerebral Aneurysms: Targeting Endothelial Cell Dysfunction via CXCL1 Blockade to Prevent Aneurysm Progression.

Shirley Dudek Demmer Chair of Research - \$25,000

AWARDED TO

Kenji Shimada, M.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Anesthesia and Perioperative Care, University of California, San Francisco, CA

Protective Roles of Estrogen Against Rupture of Intracranial Aneurysms in Post-Menopausal Women.

Step for Hope Chair of Research - \$20,000

AWARDED TO

Brian P. Walcott, M.D.

Neurosurgery Resident, Massachusetts General Hospital & Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA

In Vivo Discovery of Angiomodulatory Pathways to Target Brain Aneurysms by High Throughput Phenotyping.

Carol W. Harvey Memorial Chair of Research - \$25,000

AWARDED TO

Chad W. Washington, M.D.

Department of Neurosurgery, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, Missouri

The Effect of Minocycline on Cerebral Vasospasm After Aneurysmal Subarachnoid Hemorrhage.